Newsletter: September 2014

Greetings from the YES Fair!

To begin, let me remind you that we have our own web site for all the latest information.

The 2015 YES Fair is scheduled for March 24-26, 2015 at the Windemere Hotel and Conference Center in Sierra Vista. Set-up is on Tuesday March 24th, judging on March 25th and the Fair is open for school visits on March 26th with the awards ceremony following that evening.

The YES Fair is open to students in the 5th through 12th grades. Students compete in three Divisions, 5-6 grades, 7-8 grades and then 9-12 grades. Elementary schools are limited to the best 9 projects in each of the grade divisions. We have to limit participation due to the limited amount of space to hold the Fair. To determine the best projects (we suggest the best in each category and the best overall project) we encourage each grade school to have a local Science and Engineering Fair. To help with that, we offer a $200 grant (grant application on the web site) to any school that holds a fair. We can also help by providing you with judging forms and helping you find judges.

To meet the requirements to have our winning high school projects advance to the International Science and Engineering Fair (ISEF) our goal is to have participation from 5 high schools or at least 50 high school projects. We will take as many high school projects as you want to send.

Please check out the resources on our web site that include the YES Fair rules, ISEF Rules, entry forms (filled out online) and lots of links to other sites with ideas for projects and other assistance for students and teachers.

As always, you can ask any and all questions with an e-mail to:

The final entry deadline is February 23, 2015. NO EXCEPTIONS. As the date of the entry deadline approaches, you will be receiving more information and suggestions for participation in the YES Fair.

I hope to have the biggest and best YES Fair ever, but I need your help to meet this goal.

We look forward to seeing you at the Fair,

Thank you!
Marcus Harston
2015 YES Fair Director